Sign In

Mayor's Biography

Mayor Chris Spearman

Along with 38 years of business experience, Chris Spearman devoted 18 years (1992-2010) to serving on the Holy Spirit School Board which included two terms as Board Chair. He is a founding member of the Industrial Association of Southern Alberta, established in 1983 (

Chris is passionate about environmental issues, supports practical solutions and believes in continuous improvement. His employment experience includes 10 years working with the ISO 14001 Environmental Management System.

Chris has also been a member of the Lethbridge Chamber of Commerce since 2008 and has served on several sub-committees in that time. In addition, he served five years (2008-2013) on the University of Lethbridge Faculty of Management Advisory Committee, and since 2010, he has served as a board member for the Aboriginal Housing Society.

Chris has also volunteered with several other community organizations including Economic Development Lethbridge (a founding member) and the Rehabilitation Society of Southwestern Alberta (now known as the Ability Resource Centre).

As the father of four adult children and proud grandpa of six ​grandchildren, Chris loves spending time with his family, particularly when they gather for special occasions such as Easter, Thanksgiving, Christmas and family birthdays.

His leisure activities include skiing, walking in our city parks and biking our trails. He enjoys travel and appreciates cultural diversity.

Contact Information:
Mayor’s Office Phone: 403 320 3823
Mayor’s Office Facsimile: 403 320 7575


Mailing Address:                        
2nd Floor, City Hall
910 – 4th Avenue South
Lethbridge, AB  T1J 0P6

All members of City Council are members of:
-Community Issues Committee (CIC)
-Finance Committee

Committee Appointments:

-Airport Committee
-Audit Committee
-Ambulance Transition Oversight Committee
-Animal Welfare Committee
-Crossings Leisure Complex Steering Committee
-Economic Development Lethbridge
-Environment Committee
-Emergency Advisory Committee
-Highway 3 Twinning Development Association
-Lethbridge Destination Managment Organization Board
-Mayors and Reeves Committee