Sign In

News Centre

Category Image

Mission to Asia

​From February 12-25, 2017, a delegation from Lethbridge and the surrounding region will be traveling to China and Japan. This delegation will be led by Lethbridge Mayor Chris Spearman and will include regional representation from Lethbridge County as well as local economic and education sectors.

"The purpose of this trip is to pursue economic development opportunities, support educational connectivity between partners, and continue fostering relationships following the recent visit from our sister-city colleagues and companies in Anyang City and Anyang County, Henan, China and Haebaru, Okinawa, Japan," says Mayor Spearman.    

Partners for the Mission to Asia include:

  • ​City of Lethbridge
  • University of Lethbridge
  • Lethbridge School District No. 51
  • Economic Development Lethbridge
  • Transmark Ltd.
  • Golden Ant Inc.
  • Starfield Magrath Ltd./AgSpectra Ltd.
  • ​Lethbridge County
  • Lethbridge College
  • Holy Spirit Catholic School Division No. 4
  • SouthGrow Regional Initiative
  • SkierkaTech/Great Excavations
  • Nikka Yuko Japanese Garden

For formal gift exchanges on the trip, the delegation will be taking items produced by local artists Karen Armstrong and Stuart Hill. These will include clay works from Armstrong stamped with a custom Lethbridge-and-region design and glazed with colours that represent our abundant sunshine, water, land and resources. In addition, Hill – with help from the fabrication team at Friesen's Plastics – is creating contemporary statuesque pieces using various materials that reflect the spirit, cultures and history of the Lethbridge region. 

For further information, including the Mission to Asia itinerary, please visit: www.lethbridge.ca/asia.

Media Contacts:

​Gerald Gauthier, Communications Consultant
City of Lethbridge
403-320-3080
gerald.gauthier@lethbridge.ca


Paul Pan, Executive Director, International
University of Lethbridge
403-332-4463
paul.pan@uleth.ca

Garrett Simmons, Communications Officer
Lethbridge School District No. 51
403-380-7396
Garrett.Simmons@lethsd.ab.ca

Trevor Lewington, CEO
Economic Development Lethbridge
403-331-0022
trevor@chooselethbridge.ca

Dallas Sherwood, Manager
Transmark Ltd.
403-308-2735
dallas.s@rkheggie.com

Bo Yang
Golden Ant Ltd.
403-479-8579
bo.yang@goldenant.ca

​Martin Ebel, Economic Development Officer
Lethbridge County
403-317-6052
mebel@lethcounty.ca


Gwen Wirth, Communications Manager
Lethbridge College
403-320-3233
gwen.wirth@lethbridgecollege.ca

Bryan Kranzler, Board Chair
Holy Spirit Catholic School Division No. 4
403-327-9555
kranzlerb@holyspirit.ab.ca

Pete Lovering, Manager
SouthGrow Regional Initiative
403-942-0601
pete.lovering@southgrow.com

Lisa Skierka, Business Development Lead
SkierkaTech/Great Excavations
403-465-3929
lisa@skierkatech.com

Michelle Day, Executive Director
Nikka Yuko Japanese Garden
403-328-3511
info@nikkayuko.com

Alastair Gregor
Starfield Magrath Ltd./AgSpectra Ltd.
778-706-0803
agregor@agspectra.com