



Minutes of the **Heart of Our City Committee** held on **Wednesday January 10, 2024** in the **Culver City Room** with the following attendance:

PRESENT:

Lorien Johansen Lethbridge Historical Society

Blaine Badiuk Public Member

Mike Prociw Economic Development Lethbridge

Daylyn Smolenski Public Member

Jackie Standing Lethbridge Chamber of Commerce

Matthew Salmon Public Member
Kelti Baird Public Member
Sheri Kain Downtown BRZ

Anastasia Sereda Southern Alberta Ethnic Association

Michael Agbabiaka Public Member

Jana MacKenzie ED Allied Arts Council

Jessie-Shea Ellis-Toddington Public Member

Shelby Mathieu Public Member left @ 4:45PM

OTHERS:

Crystal Scheit Urban Revitalization Manager Stephanie Parsonage Legislative Services Assistant

ABSENT:

Note: Members attended remotely pursuant to Section 199(1) of the Municipal Government Act, R.S.A. 2000, c. M-26.

The meeting was called to order at 3:36PM. by consensus.

Acknowledgment Statement

1. Election of Chair and Vice Chair

Nominations for Chair – Lorien Johansen, nomination by Kelti Baird Nominations for Vice Chair – Blaine Badiuk, nomination by Kelti Baird

Both positions accepted by acclamation.



2.	Ado	ption	of A	Ager	ıda:
----	-----	-------	------	------	------

MOVED: Matthew

BE IT RESOLVED THAT the agenda of the Regular Meeting of the Heart of Our City Committee of January 10, 2024 be adopted as amended.

CARRIED

3. Consent Agenda:

3.1. Approval of minutes December 13, 2023

MOVED: Jessie-Shea

BE IT RESOLVED THAT the minutes of Heart of Our City Committee held on December 13, 2023 be approved as amended.

CARRIED

4. Agenda Items:

4.1. Introduction of New Members; Chair-Heart of Our City Committee

•
No motion required
••••••
4.2. Member Update
MOVED: Blaine
BE IT RESOLVED THAT the Heart of Our City Committee receive the resignation of Hannah Furgeson from the committee.
CARRIED
•••••••••
4.3. Orientation for Committee Members; Chair-Heart of Our City Committee
No motion required



4.4. Terms of Reference Review; Chair-Heart of Our City Committee

MOVED: Jana

BE IT RESOLVED THAT the Heart of Our City Committee approve the recommended changes to the Terms of Reference and;

FURTHER BE IT RESOLVED THAT the Heart of Our City Committee request Administration to submit the amended Terms of Reference to the next possible Governance Standing Policy Committee Meeting.

	CARRIED
•••••	

4.5. Sub-Committee Development

MOVED: Lorien

BE IT RESOLVED THAT the Heart of Our City Committee develop the following sub-committees ending December 31, 2024, with the following membership, and;

- Place Activation Sub-Committee Kelti Baird, Blaine Badiuk, Jana MacKenzie, Jackie Standing
- Residential Development Sub-Committee Mike Prociw, Daylyn Smolenski, Kelti Baird, Michael Agbabiaka
- Safety & Social Issues Sub-Committee Blaine Badiuk, Shelby Collier, Jessie-Shea Ellis-Toddington, Sheri Kain, Michael Agbabiaka
- Communications Sub-Committee Matthew Salmon, Lorien Johansen, Anastasia Sereda
- Equity, Diversity & Inclusion Sub-Committee Jana MacKenzie, Michael Agbabiaka, Anastasia Sereda

FURTHER BE IT RESOLVED THAT the sub-committees report back to the Heart of Our City Committee on a quarterly basis.

CARRIED

5. Next Meeting

Wednesday April 10, 2024



6. Adi	journ:
--------	--------

The meeting was adjourned at 5:28PM	
Chair	 City Clerk/Designate