Sign In

News Centre

Category Image

New Mayor and Council officially sworn-in to office

Lethbridge residents: your new City Council is now on the clock.

In a swearing-in ceremony held Monday afternoon at the Yates Memorial Theatre – with the Restrictions Exemption Program in place for all attendees at the venue – City Clerk Bonnie Hilford and Deputy City Clerk David Sarsfield administered the Oath of Office for each of the nine members of the 2021-2025 Lethbridge City Council.

"This ceremony was the beginning of a new chapter and an opportunity for a new path forward for Lethbridge," says Mayor Blaine Hyggen, who is now officially the 26th Mayor of Lethbridge. "Together with my Council colleagues, we'll work to represent residents' voices, their hopes and work with their best interests at heart. I hope we can work to make Lethbridge an even better place in four years' time than it is today."

The eight Councillors: Mark Campbell, Jeff Carlson, Belinda Crowson, Rajko Dodic, John Middleton-Hope, Nick Paladino, Ryan Parker and Jenn Schmidt-Rempel, were also sworn-in Monday.

The swearing-in ceremony featured several video messages from elected officials along with live performances from local artists including award-winning country musician, Trevor Panczak. In a first for any Lethbridge City Council, Kainai Elder, Mike Bruised Head (Ninna Piiksii), offered a neighbour-to-nation greeting.

"A new City Council brings new leadership and an opportunity for renewal in the community," says Bruised Head. "I wish the new Mayor and Council of Lethbridge good wisdom and good guidance in their work to look after the needs of all of the City's residents."

Council will begin their month-long orientation process on Tuesday, October 26, with the first official Council meeting of this term taking place on Tuesday, November 16.

Monday's ceremony was livestreamed on the City's YouTube channel and is now available to watch on the platform.