Skip to main content Skip to footer


Lethbridge Emergency Advisory Committee

The Lethbridge Emergency Advisory Committee provides guidance and direction to the Lethbridge Emergency Management Agency. It advises City Council on the development and status of emergency plans and programs each year.

During an emergency or disaster, the Committee shall:

  • Receive updates regarding the emergency or disaster from the agency
  • In accordance with the Emergency Management Act, declare a State of Local Emergency where appropriate
  • Perform additional powers or duties, as described in the Act that Council has assigned to it


Meetings are held once per year. The Committee may also meet at the request of the Mayor or Director of Emergency Management.

Committee Members

Committee Member Role
Blaine Hyggen, Chair Mayor
John Middleton-Hope Deputy Mayor
Ryan Parker Acting Mayor
Mark Campbell Councillor
Jeff Carlson Councillor
Belinda Crowson Councillor
Rajko Dodic Councillor
Nick Paladino Councillor
Jenn Schmidt-Rempel Councillor

Governing Documents

The Committee is governed using the City of Lethbridge’s Emergency Management Bylaw. The bylaw outlines the process for declaring a State of Local Emergency and establishes the composition and duties of the Lethbridge Emergency Management Agency.

Previous Years Agendas and Minutes

This website uses cookies to enhance usability and provide you with a more personal experience. By using this website, you agree to our use of cookies as explained in our Privacy Policy.